Sustainability Advisory Panel

Chaired by Sam Mostyn AO, our Sustainability Advisory Panel has five external members who were selected based on the range of skills and expertise we considered necessary to shape and inform a pioneering sustainability agenda.
Sustainability Advisory Panel Sam Mostyn

Sam Mostyn AO (Australia), Non-Executive Director Sustainability Adviser, and Advisory Panel Chair

Sam Mostyn is a non-executive director and sustainability adviser, with an extensive history of executive and governance roles across business, policy, sustainability, and climate change. Sam is the Chair of the Australian Federal Government's Women's Economic Equality Taskforce. She serves on the Mirvac board with a broad portfolio of other roles including chairing ANROWS, Ausfilm, the Foundation for Young Australians, and the Australian Climate Council. Sam's past roles include President of Chief Executive Women, chairing Citi Australia and the NSW Government's Women's Economic Opportunities Review.

Sam serves on the Australian faculty of the Cambridge University Business & Sustainability Leadership Program. In 2018, Sam was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Laws by the Australian National University, in recognition of her work as a pioneer of gender inclusion and equity, and leadership in sustainability and climate change. Sam was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in 2021 for her contribution to business, sustainability, community and women and named Winner – Outstanding Individual, in the Investor Group on Climate Change 2019 Climate Awards.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Dr Susanne Becken.

Dr Susanne Becken (Australia), Professor of Sustainable Tourism, Griffith University, Australia

Prof. Susanne Becken is a Professor of Sustainable Tourism at Griffith University in Australia, a Vice Chancellor Research Fellow at the University of Surrey in the United Kingdom, and the Principal Science Investment Advisor for tourism in the Department of Conservation, New Zealand. In her role as founding Director of the Griffith Institute for Tourism she led the Institute to be recognised as No 2 in the world and No 1 in Australia. She has published over 100 articles on sustainable tourism, climate change and tourism resource use. Susanne is a member of the NOW Transforming Travel Advisory Board and an invited expert on the Whitsunday Climate Change Innovation Hub. Susanne is an elected Fellow of the International Academy of the Study of Tourism.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Katherine Corich

Katherine Corich, Chairman and Founder of Sysdoc

Katherine is the Chairman and Founder of Sysdoc, a global service provider delivering transformational change, simplification and efficiency programmes. Katherine qualified as a commercial pilot before turning her considerable energy and intellect to becoming an expert in business transformation. A former Associate Fellow of the University of Oxford – Saïd Business School, with an MA in Linguistics, she was inducted into the NZ Hi-Tech Hall of Fame, named 2015 UK New Zealander of the Year, and has twice won the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award. Under Katherine's leadership, Sysdoc has made significant commitments to carbon reduction, through the planting of native trees. Katherine is a trustee of Pure Advantage NZ, a group of leading entrepreneurs working together to champion environmentally focused economic models and business practices to ensure New Zealand becomes and remains a world leading, climate positive, economically thriving and socially just society. Katherine is a non-executive director of UK Civil Aviation Authority and MyWaveAI. She also serves on the University of Auckland Business School Advisory Board.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Tim Jackson.

Professor Tim Jackson (United Kingdom), Professor of Sustainable Development, University of Surrey, Director of the Centre for the Understanding of Sustainable Prosperity

Tim Jackson is Director of the Centre for the Understanding of Sustainable Prosperity (CUSP), and Professor of Sustainable Development at the University of Surrey in the UK. CUSP builds on Tim's vision over three decades to explore the moral, economic and social dimensions of prosperity on a finite planet. He's advised numerous governments and UN agencies on sustainability. Between 2004 and 2011, Tim was Economics Commissioner on the UK Sustainable Development Commission, where his work culminated in the publication of his controversial book Prosperity without Growth (Routledge 2009/2017). In 2016, he was awarded the Hillary Laureate for exceptional international leadership. In addition to his academic work, Tim is an award-winning dramatist with numerous radio-writing credits for the BBC.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Nadine Toe Toe

Nadine Toe Toe (New Zealand), Director of Kohutapu Lodge & Tribal Tours

Nadine Toe Toe is the Director of Kohutapu Lodge & Tribal Tours, a whānau-owned and operated tourism business located in the heart of Ngāti Manawa Tribal Lands in Murupara, with a vision to "Change a town through tourism". Although located in her husband's tribal lands, Nadine is of Ngai Tai descent, and has harnessed her extensive expertise in tourism, social responsibility, and community engagement to create a unique experience that gives back to the tamariki (children) of the area and through local schools and creates opportunities for travel, growth and development. Under Nadine's leadership Kohutapu Lodge & Tribal Tours won the 2019 NZ Tourism Industry Awards' community engagement category – on authentic cultural experiences, creating opportunities for young people, and hosting the National Geographic Photo Camp initiative. Most recently, Kohutapu Lodge & Tribal Tours has secured Provincial Development Unit Funding to reposition their tourism lodge as a Youth Training Facility during the domestic tourism low season, until international tourism recovers.

Sam Mostyn image courtesy of Alina Gozin'a; Katherine Corich image courtesy of Genevieve Dorion; Nadine Toe Toe image courtesy of Cinzia Maioha-Jonathan